One of the Best Things in Life Is…

Hey, everybody!

I’m currently drinking a cup of tea and snacking on a delicious pastry (from that tea place that I think that I mentioned yesterday!).

So, life yesterday was quite exciting, as I had told you all yesterday that I was meeting up with my old friends Katrina and Charlie. And where were we going to converse?

Why, over gelato, of course! I’ve decided that gelato is officially one of the best things in life.

A Spoonful of Deliciousness

To me, it makes me feel happy and nostalgic, as I remember sampling gelato as a kid. My Dad had driven our family over to this small little gelato shop (that has long since closed down, sadly), and I remember being able to sample small spoonfuls of a flavour that I had wanted to try. I don’t quite re-call which flavour that was (which is a bummer), but I remember loving it enough that I wanted to try gelato again. It was rich and it melted perfectly in my mouth- a perfect day spent with family while eating something so wonderful such as that.

Well, enough on my reminiscent memories concerning gelato. I’ll now tell you guys about my meet-up with my old friends, and I’ll try to keep my words limited when concerning history (as I kind-of was over obsessive with my knowledge of the history and hotels and beautiful buildings and wow I’m rambling… which I need to fix).


When I woke up this morning, it was perfectly clear and sunny. The light shone through my curtains as I tried to snuggle back into bed (I kind-of stayed up late last night sending E-Mails to family and friends- too many promises I made!), and I think that I made a sound similar to a lion cub’s roar as I yawned, sitting up in my bed.

By the way… if any of you were wondering as to why I sound like some sort of fiction writer, it’s because I’m actually on my way to finishing a novel of mine. I’ve been working on it for a good three years now, and it is coming to the middle-end (I constantly edit and re-edit every couple of minutes). I’ve been working on it since around the end of University, and I’m not going to release any details about it yet- you can probably find out when I’m finished it when I make a blog post and sound like a complete and utter maniac. Ha, ha.

ANYWAYS. I’m sorry! I’m going completely off track. My bad. Onto yesterday’s events.

I eventually woke up, and I dressed myself in comfortable and light clothing- a dark blue blouse, beige capris, and comfy black sandals (I am one of the few that still likes to wear sandals as opposed to flip-flops).

Now, before you all think that this is some sort of blog where I’m going to provide you all with beauty and fashion kinds of things- no, it’s not. I’m probably one of the last people that you’d ask about that kind-of stuff. I’m more like… a book, film, food, music kind of nerd. Y’know?

Going off track again, sorry.

Well, I had a great breakfast with some delicious food in the hotel before I left to go wander the streets, asking passersby if they could take photos of me with my camera by unique buildings and cool people. Yep, typical tourist.

The people in Venice are quite nice, and sometimes it’s hard to understand them as their English is shrouded with their Italian accent- however, they are more than helpful, and I feel very welcome in this city. One of the passersby even gave me a five-minute tutorial on how to say a couple of phrases in Italian, to which I scribbled down in a notebook when I sat down for lunch.

Lunch went by quickly, as I found that I was going to run late to meet up with my friends if I stayed any longer. I ate a delicious spaghetti and meatball meal with a glass of ice water, and provided a nice tip to the restaurant that I dined at before heading off to meet Charlie and Katrina.

We met up at a local gelato shop near St. Mark’s Square; it’s called Gelato Fantasy. And oh. My. Word. What a marvelous gelato find this was!

After hugs and teary hellos (mainly by me, as I am a sappy lady), I noted that both Charlie and Katrina looked great- they were blooming in happiness, and I couldn’t help but think that they just looked perfect for each other (just like in a movie). I keep thinking and dropping “subtle” hints towards them, particularly Katrina because we are closer than I am with Charlie, but she keeps batting away my smug face and accusations. She claims that they’re “just friends”- well, “just friends” my butt. I swear, if they don’t end up together, pigs will fly high in the sky (so, really, I think that they will end up together.

When we entered the shop, we were instantly greeted by a kind worker, and they translated the Italian into English for us. From there, we were able to make our choices, and…

… Katrina ordered a three-scoop: watermelon, yellow peach, and vanilla.

… Charlie ordered a two-scoop: vanilla and chocolate.

… and as for myself? I ordered a three-scoop: pink grapefruit, yellow peach, and raspberry.

And wow oh wow. It was totally worth the price, as the gelato tasted like absolute MAGNIFICENCE. My word. Just… go to Gelato Fantasy if you ever get the chance; you won’t regret it. It’s so good.

That being said, gelato is indeed one of the best things in life (to repeat what I had said earlier). That, and good friends and family. And HUMOUR.

Below is the site to which you can visit:

http://www.gelatofantasy.com/index.php

It is handy, as you can view choices that are involved with cream, some have surprises… it has a wide variety that could accommodate to you and your choices! I had to translate the page, but it should come out with accurate results.

So… yeah! While eating gelato, we conversed and I learned of the many adventures that they’ve had together since we last met (which was a while ago). They’re still super close, and I’m positive that something needs to blossom with them as I don’t think of them as “just friends”. No sirree.

Anyways, I’d like to tell you more about what they had told me, but I don’t want to type anything until they’ve given me the “okay” to do so- they told me some pretty hilarious and embarrassing stories, that’s why.

Okay, well, right now I need to head back to my room, as I’ve forgotten to pick up a few things before I go exploring once more. I’ll check back in with you as soon as I can! Probably tomorrow, and I’ll explain more of what I have not already (I’m leaving giant gaps and spaces, with irritates me).

Thanks, all!

– L

Leave a comment